Where to Start Reading Made in Abyss After the Anime

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook
Where to Read Made in Abyss After the Anime Faputa
Credit: Kinema Citrus
Thumbnail for video

A lot has happened in Made in Abyss since Riko, Nanachi, and Reg unearthed the Hollow Village. After uncovering the village's secret, they assisted Faputa in realizing her life's purpose. To follow the group's descent into the abyss, here's where to start reading the Made in Abyss manga after the anime.

Related: The Best Adventure Anime to Watch


How Much of Made in Abyss Did the Anime Cover?

As of writing, the anime adaptation of Made in Abyss has completed 11 manga volumes, totaling 61 chapters. This means that the anime adaptation came very close to the recent Made in Abyss manga releases.

The first season of Made in Abyss covered manga volumes one through four, ending with Chapter 24.

It recounts Reg and Riko's fateful meeting, which led to their eventual descent into the abyss in search of Riko's missing mother, Lyza.

In the manga, Made in Abyss Season 1 begins with Chapter 1's "Orth, City on Edge" and concludes with Chapter 26’s "A New Start".

Prior to Season 2, the series released a film titled Made in Abyss: Dawn of the Deep Soul, which depicts the events that occurred between Seasons 1 and 2, making it a canon film.


The manga volumes four through five were adapted for the film Made in Abyss: Dawn of the Deep Soul, beginning with Chapter 27's "Forbidden Flower Garden" and ending with Chapter 38's "The Challengers".

The plot revolved around Reg, Riko, and Nanachi's confrontation with Bondrewd, the Sovereign of Dawn.

They also met and became friends with Bondrewd's adoptive daughter, Prushka.

Moving on, Made in Abyss Season 2 covered manga volumes six through ten.

The events took place in the Hollow Village where Reg, Riko, and Nanachi discovered the truth about Irumyuui, Vueko, and the other hollows who end up living there.

Made in Abyss Season 2 in the manga begins with Chapter 39's "The Capital of the Unreturned" and ends with Chapter 60's "Gold."

Where to Start Made in Abyss After the Anime

Where to Start Made in Abyss After the Anime Prushka
Credit: Kinema Citrus

Following the conclusion of Made in Abyss Season 2, viewers should begin reading the manga from Volume 11, Chapter 61, titled "You Can Go Anywhere."

Faputa's long-awaited vengeance against the hollows that devoured her siblings was central to the conclusion of Made in Abyss Season 2.

She was able to realize her life's purpose on behalf of her mother, Irumyuui, with the help of Reg, Riko, and Nanachi.

Made in Abyss Season 3 is unlikely to happen anytime soon, as the anime adaptation has covered almost all of the series' chapter releases.

Because the Made in Abyss manga has no consistent chapter release, fans will have to wait a long time before they can expect another season of the anime.

Where to Read the Made in Abyss Manga

Seven Seas Entertainment has licensed the Made in Abyss manga in North America, thereby making it available in English print and digital editions.

The Made in Abyss manga is available in print editions at Comic Shop Locator Service, Barnes & Noble, Powell's, Walmart, Books-A-Million, RightStuf, Bookshop, Amazon, Indiebound, and Indigo.

On the other hand, the manga's digital edition is available on Amazon KINDLE, iBooks, Book Walker, Kobo, Nook by Barnes & Noble, ComiXology, and Google Play Store.

Discover more anime news and info by following us on Twitter @epicstreamanime.