What is the Plot of Marvel’s What If..?

Credit: Marvel Studios

Credit: Marvel Studios

Marvel's What If..? is one of the MCU series to appear on Disney+ alongside WandaVision, The Falcon and the Winter Soldier, Loki, Hawkeye, Ms. Marvel, Moon Knight, She-Hulk, Secret Invasion, and many other shows lined up for the present and future phases as they rebuild and expand the existing universe opening more possibilities than ever. Still, this show stands out because of its plot, so, what is it about?

What is the Plot of Marvel's What If..?

Marvel will be taking a whole turn following the finale of Loki as the multiverse opened and branched out into alternate realities making it more chaotic, but at the same time, offering more possibilities and amazing stories like what What If..? will cater – different angles on the heroes and villains from their origins, the events they were in, and the totality of what the universe has to offer.

To be told by Uatu the Watcher, Marvel's What If..? will re-tell the stories we all know but this time, with a different take as it would answer the biggest what-ifs-and-could-have-beens in the MCU. It will feature alternate realities still canon to the franchise where the characters have swapped positions, events happening with a different ending, and heroes and villains meeting and being friends or changing sides.

Related: What If...? Almost Featured Star Wars' Luke Skywalker Becoming an Avenger

One of the main plots of Marvel's What If..? will focus on Peggy Carter being the recipient of the super-soldier serum instead of Steve Rogers who ended up with the Hydra Stomper and the Howling Commandos were under her command. Another plot would be T'Challa being kidnapped by Yondu instead of Peter Quill so he becomes Star Lord. There are even Marvel zombies!

Doctor Strange becomes Doctor Strange Supreme where he would be on the dark side fighting against Ancient One, Gamora becomes the wielder of the double sword of Thanos, Tony Stark never got the chance to build the Iron Man suit because he was saved by Killmonger in time and they became friends, Loki even won the battle of New York and a lot more stories that will turn what we all know upside down.

The series will span nine episodes for the whole first season and it has already been confirmed that there would be a second season, possibly even more. Each run will have 30 minutes, more or less, depending on the story presented. Some arcs will continue for more than one episode and it will be a whole new re-tell of the MCU from the alternate realities.

The nine episodes of Marvel's What If..? will be released weekly on Disney+ every Wednesday filling the previous schedule of Loki. There are no plans yet for the series of Marvel to be on physical copies, but who knows, right? Maybe in an alternate reality, it only releases in such away.

Marvel's What If…? Episode 1 will premiere on August 11, 2021, at 3 AM, exclusively on Disney+.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!