01 Jul 2021 2:36 PM +00:00 UTC

Demon Slayer Ranks: Lowest to Highest Explained, Which is Worst and Best?

In Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Tanjiro joined an organization for demon slayers in the hopes to find a cure for his sister, Nezuko. The organization is called the Demon Slayer Corps. This group has been existing since ancient times. The main objective of the organization is to protect humans from demons. 

Anyone can join the Demon Slayer Corps but they must pass the Final Selection first. It is a test or an entrance exam in which participants must survive for seven days on a mountain filled with demons. They won’t be getting any help from the outside world. Once they pass the exam, they will be able to join the organization wherein they will be separated into ten ranks. 

Demon Slayer Ranks: Lowest to Highest Explained

Demon Slayer Ranks: Lowest to Highest Explained, Which is Worst and Best? 1
click to enlarge
+ 2

As mentioned, there are 10 ranks in the Demon Slayer Corps. After the demon slayer passes the Final Selection, he or she will be given a standard uniform, choose an ore for their sword, and a talking bird for communication. He or she is automatically placed in the lowest rank, which is Mizunoto. As the lowest rank, those in this category are paid around 200,000 yen, and the salary increases as they get promoted. 

Below are the ranks available from lowest to highest:

  • Mizunoto
  • Mizunoe
  • Kanoto
  • Kanoe
  • Tsuchinoto
  • Tsuchinoe
  • Hinoto
  • Hinoe
  • Kinoto
  • Kinoe

To get a higher rank, they must complete their missions. Demon slayers can check their rank through their hands by using a process called Wisteria Flower Engraving. All they need to do is state the password and their arm will reveal their status. 

Another rank available is the Hashira. It is comprised of elite individuals who were able to either kill 50 demons or a member of 12 Demon Moons as a Kinoe. Hashira can be paid as much as they want. 

Demon Slayer Ranks: Which is Worst and Best?

Demon Slayer Ranks: Lowest to Highest Explained, Which is Worst and Best? 2
click to enlarge
+ 2

Of course, the worst would be Mizunoto as it is the lowest rank. The rank also gets the lowest pay. The best rank would be the Hashira as it comes with several benefits like getting paid by how much they desire, having a specific region to monitor, and assigning to missions that were not completed by lower ranks, which means it is not that common. But being a Hashira is not that easy as they get the more dangerous missions which mean stronger demons to defeat. 

Who are the Hashira and is Tanjiro Hashira level? Find out in this article

RELATED: Why Does Tanjiro's Scar Change, and Why Does He Have a Mark on His Head in Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba Anime?