Black Clover Watch Order - How to Watch Black Clover in Order

Black Clover Watch Order
Credit: Pierrot

Black Clover Watch Order
Credit: Pierrot

Black Clover has a lot of episodes, not to mention OVAs and Specials. If you feel a little intimidated, we're here to help with the complete Black Clover watch order guide!

Black Clover remains one of the most popular recent shounen anime. Even though it was discontinued, it still has a decent fanbase, all the more so since the manga is still ongoing.

As a result, we expect interest in the anime to remain high in the years to come.

RELATED: When Are New Black Clover Manga Chapters Released?

Black Clover: A Hit Action-Comedy Series

Black Clover follows Asta and Yuno, two orphans who were abandoned at a church as babies.

Growing up, both dreamed of becoming the "Wizard King," the strongest mage in the kingdom and promised to compete against each other for the role.

But while Yuno grew stronger, Asta developed no affinity for magic.

Black Clover Watch Order How to Watch Black Clover in Order Asta and Yuno
expand image
Credit: Pierrot

Instead, Asta obtains a five-leaf grimoire that allows him to use anti-magic; the ability to nullify the power of others.

The two friends both set out with the same goal; to become the Wizard King.

But can Asta, who lacks mana, ever get close to the coveted title? And does Asta ever get magic?

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE: Do Asta and Noelle End Up Together?

Black Clover Watch Order: Series and Movies

Black Clover Watch Order 1
expand image
Credit: Pierrot

The best order to watch Black Clover is the chronological release order. The anime has a total of four seasons that were released as follows:

  • Black Clover Season 1 (2017-18)
  • Black Clover Season 2 (2018-19)
  • Black Clover Season 3 (2019-20)
  • Black Clover Season 4 (2020-21)

The show also has a Special, and an ONA:

  • Black Clover: Jump Festa 2016 Special (OVA)
  • Black Clover: Jump Festa 2018 Special (Special)
  • Mugyutto! Black Clover (ONA)

The 2016 special was bundled with the 11th volume of the Black Clover manga.

Meanwhile, the 2018 special, also known as The All Magic Knights Thanksgiving Festa features Asta, Yuno, and the captains of the different squads participating in a quiz.

black clover anime watch order
expand image
Credit: Pierrot

Mugyutto! Black Clover is a mini-series of comedy shorts, while Black Clover: Sword of the Wizard King is a 2023 original movie.

With these in mind, here's the ultimate Black Clover watch order:

  1. Black Clover: Jump Festa 2016 Special (OVA)
  2. Black Clover Season 1 (2017-18)
  3. Black Clover Season 2 (2018-19)
  4. Black Clover Season 3 (2019-20)
  5. Black Clover Season 4 (2020-21)
  6. Black Clover: Jump Festa 2018 Special (Special)
  7. Mugyutto! Black Clover (ONA)
  8. Black Clover: Sword of the Wizard King (2023)

Black Clover: Sword of the Wizard King

A 2023 Black Clover movie titled Black Clover: Sword of the Wizard King was also released in 2023.

As this is an original Black Clover story rather than based on the manga, fans are free to watch it at any point, though checking it out after the main anime series makes more sense.

By then, you will feel more attached to the characters and you'll get the most of it, as it's designed with existing fans in mind.

Do I Have to Watch the Extras?

Are the Black Clover Extras Necessary?
expand image
Credit: Pierrot

In general, most fans agree that watching Black Clover's four seasons in order is enough to get the full experience.

The extras aren't considered as gripping as the main series nor do they add significantly to the anime, so you can either watch them in any order or skip them altogether.

Can You Match The Villain To The Anime?

How well do you know your anime villains? Test yourself to find out

The 2023 movie, however, currently has good ratings with over 8/10 on MyAnimeList so fans consider it a worthwhile addition.

Ultimately, reading the manga is your best option to get the most out of the story, given that the anime was discontinued.

Which Black Clover Episodes Can I Skip?

Black Clover Filler List
expand image
Credit: Pierrot

Black Clover is pretty good when it comes to fillers, as they only constitute a small percentage of its total episode number.

But if you still want to focus on the canon anime material, the fillers you can skip are Episodes 29, 66, 68, 82, 123, 124, 125, 131, 134, 135, and 142-148.

Want the latest on all things anime? Make sure you follow us on Twitter!

READ NEXT: All Black Clover Arcs in Order: Where to Start Reading

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

AnimeQueriesBlack Clover