The Ultimate Monogatari Watch Order 2022: Every Series & Movie

The Ultimate Monogatari Watch Order 2022
Credit: Shaft

The Ultimate Monogatari Watch Order 2022
Credit: Shaft

Watch guides can help with any anime show that has more than a couple of seasons and a movie or two. Arguably, few series watch orders are as complex as that of Monogatari, a massive supernatural anime franchise with many series and movies and a complicated timeline. If you're wondering how to get started, we're here to help: here's the ultimate Monogatari watch order:

About Monogatari

"Monogatari" means "story" in Japanese, so whatever word comes before normally indicates what the story is about.

Based on a light novel series written by Nisio Isin and illustrated by Vofan, Monogatari is the story of Koyomi Araragi, a high school student who became a vampire for a brief period but managed to regain his humanity.

When he introduces a classmate who also suffers from a supernatural affliction to the man that helped him overcome his vampirism, Koyomi doesn’t know what he’s starting.

Soon, he comes to help many other girls battle the paranormal, from ghosts to deities and all sorts of spirits. In many cases, the fantastic is used to explore the afflicted characters’ emotional and mental states, making for a very interesting conflict.

The Ultimate Monogatari Watch Order

The Ultimate Monogatari Watch Order 2022 2
expand image
Credit: Shaft

When an anime is as massive as Monogatari, you have two options; either watch in the order of release to have the same experience original fans did, or seek another way that best enhances the viewing experience.

If you want to try the first way, here’s the ultimate watch order for Monogatari:

First Season: This adapts the first novel in the series, known as Bakemonogatari: stories about monsters.

  • Bakemonogatari (2009)
  • Nisemonogatari (2012)
  • Nekomonogatari Black (2012)

Related: Best Anime Not Based on a Manga

Second Season: In the second season, Tsubasa Hanekawa and Hitagi Senjogahara face supernatural difficulties, but Araragi isn’t there to help, as he’s going missing, urging them not to attempt contact.

  1. Monogatari Series Second Season (2013-14)
  2. Hanamonogatari (2014)

Final Season

  1. Tsukimonogatari (2014)
  2. Owarimonogatari (2015)
  3. Koyomimonogatari (2016)
  4. Kizumonogatari Part 1: Tekketsu (2016)
  5. Kizumonogatari Part 2: Nekketsu (2016)
  6. Kizumonogatari Part 3: Reiketsu (2017)
  7. Owarimonogatari (Part 2) (2017)
  8. Zoku Owarimonogatari (2019)

If you want to stick to the series' timeline, the Kizumonogatari films should be watched right after Bakemonogatari. Koyomimonogatari should then go before Owarimonogatari.

Related: 20 Best Fantasy Anime to Watch

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!