Tatsuki Fujimoto One-shots Released in 17-21 Anthology

Chainsaw Man one shots Denji

Chainsaw Man one shots Denji

Thanks to Chainsaw Man, author Tatsuki Fujimoto has become one of the most renowned contemporary manga artists. Now, Viz Media released a new anthology that collects Tatsuki Fujimoto's one-shots from before Chainsaw Man.

Recently, the first of the two-volume anthology collection entitled Tatsuki Fujimoto Before Chainsaw Man was released by Viz Media physically and digitally in English.

This new volume features a selection of Fujimoto’s earlier works, giving fans a glimpse at the “twisted mastermind” behind one of today’s most popular manga titles.

Tatsuki Fujimoto’s Other Works

Fujimoto may be best known for Chainsaw Man, but he first gained renown for Fire Punch, the incredibly grim dark fantasy series that was serialized on Jump+ from 2016 to 2018.

Despite not being for the faint of heart, Fujimoto’s Fire Punch gained a strong following. Its renown also increased when fans discovered the all-star team behind it.

Specifically, several manga authors that are popular today served as assistants for Fire Punch, including Tatsuya Endo (Spy x Family), Yuji Kaku (Jigokuraku: Hell’s Paradise), and Yukinobu Tatsu (Dandadan).

After Fire Punch, Fujimoto began Chainsaw Man, which propelled him to new heights.

After the series’ first part ended, Fujimoto then began working on new one-shot titles ahead of Part 2’s premiere.

These one-shots include the critically acclaimed Look Back and Goodbye, Eri, which were released in 2021 and 2022, respectively.

These manga were praised for their inventive stories, impressive paneling, and memorable characters.

YOU MIGHT LIKE: Things That Inspired Chainsaw Man, According to Creator Tatsuki Fujimoto

Tatsuki Fujimoto Before Chainsaw Man 17-21 Content, Release Date

chainsaw man makima
expand image

Most of Fujimoto’s major works, including his newer one-shots, have been released in English by Viz Media. Now, fans outside Japan can read some of his earlier works that predate even Fire Punch.

First released in Japan on October 4, 2021, Tatsuki Fujimoto Before Chainsaw Man: 17-21 is now available in English. It features four early works from the renowned author.

All these works were made by Fujimoto when he was 17-21 years old, hence the title. The works in the volume include:

  • There Were Two Chickens in the Garden
  • Sasaki Has Stopped the Bullet
  • Love Is Blind
  • Shikaku

Meanwhile, the second volume is entitled Tatsuki Fujimoto Before Chainsaw Man: 22-26, and it also features four one-shots. Volume 2 includes the following manga:

  • Siren Rhapsody
  • “When I Woke Up I Had Become a Girl" Disease
  • Nayuta of the Prophecy
  • Little Sister's Elder Sister

The first volume was released by Viz Media in English on January 17, 2023, while the second volume will be released on April 18, 2023.

Get the latest anime news and info by following us on Twitter @epicstreamanime.

READ NEXT: MAPPA Wants to Animate All of Tatsuki Fujimoto’s Works

Source: Viz Media

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

Anime NewsAnimeMangaChainsaw Man