Star Wars: The Force Awakens Wins 'Movie Of The Year' At The 2016 MTV Movie Awards

At Sunday night's MTV Movie Awards, Star Wars: The Force Awakens took home the ceremony's biggest honor: Movie of the Year!

Daisy Ridley won Best Breakthrough Performance for playing Rey in the film; Adam Driver won Best Villain. Ridley also talked about Star Wars: Episode VIII and the Rogue One fan theory about her character's parentage.

Boyega, Ridley, Lupita Nyong'o and Andy Serkis lost in other categories, but The Force Awakens finally got the honor it deserves after losing all its Oscar nominations to Mad Max: Fury Road.

You can check out the complete list of winners below:

Movie of the Year: Star Wars: The Force Awakens
MTV Generation Award: Will Smith
Comedic Genius Award: Melissa McCarthy
Best Male Performance: Leonardo DiCaprio, The Revenant
Best Female Performance: Charlize Theron, Mad Max: Fury Road
Breakthrough Performance: Daisy Ridley, Star Wars: The Force Awakens
True Story: Straight Outta Compton
Documentary: Amy
Best Comedic Performance: Ryan Reynolds, Deadpool
Best Fight: Deadpool (Ryan Reynolds) vs. Ajax (Ed Skrein), Deadpool
Best Kiss: Rebel Wilson and Adam DeVine, Pitch Perfect 2
Best Villain: Adam Driver, Star Wars: The Force Awakens
Best Action Performance: Chris Pratt, Jurassic World
Best Virtual Performance: Amy Poehler, Inside Out
Ensemble Cast: Pitch Perfect 2
Best Hero: Jennifer Lawrence, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay — Part 2

Star Wars: Episode VIII is set to release on Dec. 15, 2017. This year, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story will be released on Dec. 16. Watch the trailer here.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!