Magic: The Gathering Head Designer Talks About The Main Characters of War of the Spark

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

Wizards of the Coast

The latest Magic: The Gathering set War of the Spark promises an epic storyline featuring a lot of Planeswalkers. Wizards of the Coast already revealed that there will be 36 Planeswalker cards in the set but how many of them are actually involved in War of the Spark's story?

According to Magic head designer Mark Rosewater, there are 11 main characters. When asked about choosing new characters for the War of the Spark novel, Rosewater responded on his Blogatog, "War of the Spark has eleven main characters. You know all of them save Rat and Teyo."


So there are two new characters who will be main characters in War of the Spark, and there are nine who fans already know, so that means one of them is Nicol Bolas, and the others are probably Jace, Gideon, Liliana, and the five Ravnica guild leaders loyal to Bolas (Dovin, Kaya, Vraska, Domri, and Ral).

Who do you think the main characters of War of the Spark are?

War of the Spark will be released on May 3, 2019. It's the third of a series of consecutive sets set in Ravnica and it will focus on the epic war between Nicol Bolas and the Gatewatch.

Related: MTG Arena Updates With New 3D Card Styles, Sleeves, Avatars & More