20 Sep 2021 1:18 PM +00:00 UTC

Will There Be a Season 2 of Girlfriend, Girlfriend? Here's What We Expect to Happen After Season 1 Ends

Girlfriend, Girlfriend has been a really intriguing romantic comedy anime under the summer slate as it has a story involving three people in one relationship and just hearing such makes it really chaotic but the story surely works. Many have been hooked on it and whether there would be a season 2 remains in question, so, here is what we expect would happen after the end of season 1.

Will There Be a Season 2 of Girlfriend, Girlfriend?
click to enlarge
+ 2
Credit: Tezuka Productions

Girlfriend, Girlfriend is based on a shōnen manga written and illustrated by Hiroyuki. It's fairly new as it just started serialization in Kodansha's Weekly Shōnen Magazine in 2020. To date, it has six tankōbon volumes. But with such an interesting story, it easily made its way to an anime adaptation by Tezuka Productions which premiered in July 2021.

Advertisement

Naoya Mukai, who just had a relationship with Saki Saki, his childhood friend, enters into another when Nagisa Minase confessed her feelings for him. With Naoya sailing two rivers, he has to make it work so they decide to live under one roof while maintaining their school life. What makes it more difficult is that they are not the only girls surrounding his life. Now, that spells chaos to have girls swooning to be your girlfriend.

Girlfriend, Girlfriend can be streamed online through Crunchyroll in its original Japanese audio with English subtitles. As of the time of writing, there is no news yet confirming whether there would be an English dubbed version of the show. The anime adaptation has 12 episodes all in all confirmed through the DVD/ Blu-ray release.

Related: Will There Be a Season 2 of Scarlet Nexus? Here's What We Expect to Happen After Season 1 Ends

Will There Be a Season 2 of Girlfriend, Girlfriend?

Will There Be a Season 2 of Girlfriend, Girlfriend? 1
click to enlarge
+ 2
Credit: Tezuka Productions

There is no news nor confirmation yet whether there would be a season 2 for Girlfriend, Girlfriend and it will all depend on the factors of the material existing to which it is based on and the viewership of the show which proves to be strong. Looking at both, it could be considered that there is a high chance for the show to have another run. (This article would be updated once there would be any news as regards this matter.)

Girlfriend, Girlfriend releases new episodes every Saturday on Crunchyroll at 2:25 AM JST/ 10:25 AM PT/ 12:25 PM CT/ 1:25 PM EST/ 6:25 PM BST. For those with active premium access on Crunchyroll for $9.99 a month, or $79.99 a year, they get the first dibs of the episodes one week ahead before being released for free.