Lovecraft Country Season 2 Almost Introduced the Sovereign States of America

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

There is little doubt that fans were disappointed when HBO decided to cancel Lovecraft Country after one season. After all, people believed that the story is far from over despite what happened in the season finale. Not surprisingly, creator Misha Green has confirmed that there were grand plans for Season 2.

Green decided to share some details about Lovecraft Country Season 2 if the series had been renewed. Interestingly, the second season almost had a curious title. Check it out below.

"A taste of the Season 2 Bible," Green wrote before revealing what the second season would have been called. "Wish we could have brought you #LovecraftCountry: Supremacy. Thank you to everyone who watched and engaged." She concluded the post with the hashtag #noconfederate.

The text on the image itself reads, "Season 2 of Lovecraft Country begins in a new world, and that new world is a country that sits precisely where the United States used to sit -- Welcome to the SOVEREIGN STATES OF AMERICA ..."

The map reveals that a majority of the states are now part of the Tribal Nations of the West while the southeast states make up the New Negro Republic. The Whitelands consists of Texas, Kansas, Missouri, Indiana, Illinois, Ohio, and more. Meanwhile, the Jefferson Commonwealth is out in Pennsylvania and New Jersey.

It's an interesting revelation and it would have been great to see what Green had in store for us. Unfortunately, we will never get to see Lovecraft Country Season 2.

The series starred Jonathan Majors, Jurnee Smollett, Jamie Chung, Wunmi Mosaku, Abbey Lee, and Courtney B. Vance. Lovecraft Country premiered on HBO in August last year and ran for 10 episodes.

Related: Ant-Man 3 Star Jonathan Majors Breaks Silence After Kang the Conqueror Casting