01 Jun 2021 4:08 PM +00:00 UTC

How Does Time Travel Work in Tokyo Revengers? Is the Present Timeline Affected when Takemichi Travels to the Past?

One element making Tokyo Revengers stand out from others is time traveling. From the premise itself, Takemichi travels to the past to change it and save his ex-girlfriend Hinata from a gruesome death in the future. But how does it work in the anime series and when Takemichi is in the past, is the present timeline affected?

How Does Time Travel Work in Tokyo Revengers
click to enlarge
+ 3
Credit: Liden Films

Based on the manga series of Ken Wakui, Tokyo Revengers finally gets its very own anime series in a 24-episode run through a double-cour. It follows Takemichi who thought that being at rock-bottom in life doesn't get you deeper, he's proven wrong as he saw on the news the death of the only girl he ever loved, Hinata, as she died at the hands of the Tokyo Manji Gang.

Advertisement

How Does Time Travel Work in Tokyo Revengers?

How Does Time Travel Work in Tokyo Revengers 1
click to enlarge
+ 3
Credit: Liden Films

Takemichi was waiting for the train to arrive while thinking about what to do with his life. He, unfortunately, got pushed off the platform and to the tracks when a train is approaching. This is when the supernatural comes in, Takemichi gets transported back to the past, exactly 12 years, to the time when he and Hinata were still together.

One important factor is a person, Naoto. Takemichi finds out that traveling back and forth through time gets triggered when he shakes the hands of Naoto, may it be in the present or the past. When he goes to the past, whatever change he made there has a change in the present. Another way of getting himself back in time is when he wills it strong enough. It is in his desire to jump through time that he gets to and fro.

Advertisement

Is the Present Timeline Affected when Takemichi Travels to the Past in Tokyo Revengers?

How Does Time Travel Work in Tokyo Revengers 2
click to enlarge
+ 3
Credit: Liden Films

The present time continues to go on despite Takemichi being in the past, however, when he makes an effective change in the past, it affects the present timeline. As Takemichi is going back and forth in time, though, he is in a coma in the present. With this, if Takemichi does it right to prevent the steps in the creation of the vile and evil group that led to Hinata's death, he could effectively stop her murder from even happening.

This ability of Takemichi seems to be immensely personal as well. Of all the people in the world, he is the one who can travel back in time. It is within him, to say the least. Do you think Takemichi will be successful in saving Hinata?

Tokyo Revengers is available online weekly through Crunchyroll where it is confirmed to have an English dub as well. It releases at 2:07 AM JST/ 11:07 AM PT/ 1:07 PM CT/ 2:07 PM EST/ 7:07 PM BST.

Related: 10 Anime Shows Like Tokyo Revengers You Should Start Watching