Disney's Lightyear Officially Banned in Several Countries, Here's Why

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook
Credit: Pixar

Disney Pixar's latest offering, Lightyear is causing quite the controversy ahead of its worldwide theatrical release this week. The Toy Story spinoff film, which serves as the origin story of Buzz Lightyear has officially been banned in several countries — including Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Egypt, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Malaysia, and Indonesia for reasons you already might have guessed.

To infinity and beyond
click to enlarge
Credit: Pixar
To infinity and beyond

The Chris Evans-led animated film has been banned in the countries mentioned above (via ComicBook) due to a scene that features a same-sex kiss between Alisha Hawthorne (voiced by Uzo Aduba) and her partner. China, a huge market for Disney and Hollywood films in general might also resort to banning Lightyear if the said same-sex sequence isn't removed or altered.

It's worth noting that the said scene was initially cut from the film but after Disney CEO Bob Chapek received backlash from fans during the height of the Don't Say Gay bill controversy, the House of Mouse later reinstated the sequence and it will now be part of the film's final cut.

Also Read: Lightyear Reinserts Cut Same-Sex Kiss Following Disney’s ‘Don’t Say Gay’ Controversy

While it's unfortunate that some countries still aren't ready for the conversation, it's great that Disney is standing its ground despite a potential loss in terms of box office earnings. It only goes to show that the tides have definitely changed and the House of Mouse is making efforts to reach out to the LGBTQIA+ community. A step toward the right direction, if you would ask me.

Lightyear will hit cinemas this Friday, June 17th.