10 Jan 2021 4:23 PM +00:00 UTC

10 Kaldheim Realms & Magic: The Gathering Creature Types Revealed

The Kaldheim preview season continues this weekend, giving us our first look at new Magic: The Gathering cards from the upcoming Norse mythology-inspired set. Wizards of the Coast has also revelaed the 10 realms as well as the 10 creature types of MTG's Viking world.

On a recent Twitch stream, WotC senior art director Cynthia Sheppard revealed the 10 realms and 10 creature types within Kaldheim plane. In each realm, there's a different creature type tied to a dual-color pair.

click to enlarge
+ 2
Axgard: Dwarves (RW)
Bretagard: Humans (GW)
Gnottyold: Trolls (RG)
Immersturm: Demons (BR)
Istfell: Spirits (WU)
Karfell: Draugr (UB undead Viking zombies)
Littjara: Shapeshifters (GU)
Skemfar: Elves (BG Wood and Shadow Elves)
Starnheim: Valkyries (WB)
Surtland: Giants (UR Fire and Frost Giants)
click to enlarge
+ 2

Sheppard says that the world of Kaldheim is "centered around a cosmic World Tree". According to Sheppard, each realm functions like a bunch of "mini multiverses" linked to the World Tree just like a "fruit" hanging from branches. Realms can interact with one another via the Doomscar, and creatures from each realm can see the World Tree. The realms are "constantly moving and shifting around the World Tree," Sheppard said, and can collide in a Doomscar event.

Related:MTG Arena For Mobile Early Access is Coming This Month

Kaldheim is set to release on February 5, 2021 for tabletop, and Jan. 28 on Magic Arena and Magic Online. The set will be followed by Strixhaven: School of Mages, which is set to release sometime in Spring 2021.