SM Entertainment's 2021 Winter SMTOWN: SMCU EXPRESS Becomes Best-Selling SMTOWN Album

Credit: SMTown/Twitter

Credit: SMTown/Twitter

SM Entertainment continues to prove its unrivaled presence in the Korean music industry as the agency hits another record. The 2021 Winter SMTOWN: SMCU EXPRESS is the 9th winter album produced by SM Town, a musical collective for SM Entertainment’s artists.

The album was released on December 27, 2021. It featured a total of 10 tracks participated by all active artists of SM Entertainment such as H.O.T’s Kangta, BoA, TVXQ, Super Junior, Girls’ Generation, SHINee, EXO, Red Velvet, NCT, and aespa.

In particular, the album included double lead singles: Hope from Kwangya and the remake of S.E.S’ "Dreams Come True." This was the first SMTOWN album after about ten years since 2011 Winter SMTOWN: The Warmest Gift, which was released in December 2011. In particular, the album included double lead singles: Hope from Kwangya and the remake of S.E.S’ "Dreams Come True." The winter album is also the first time where EXO Kai, Red Velvet, NCT, and aespa participated.

ALSO READ: Bad And Crazy Episode 7 Release Date And Time, Preview

2021 Winter SMTOWN: SMCU EXPRESS Breaks Records A Week After Its Release

SM Entertainment and its talented artists welcomed the year 2021 with an amazing feat. The winter album 2021 Winter SMTOWN: SMCU EXPRESS surpassed 410,000 sold copies in just eight days after its release on December 27, 2021.

Specifically, as of January 3, 2022, the album had reached 416,493 sold copies which becomes the highest sales record ever among the albums released by SMTOWN.

The 2021 Winter SMTOWN: SMCU EXPRESS album featured several artists under SM Entertainment and had an interesting combination of talents aside from the tracks from the groups themselves.

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE: Let Me Be Your Knight Episode 9 Release Date And Time, Preview

In particular, the jazz version of “The Promise of H.O.T.” was pre-released on November 26, 2021 through the SM Station. It was soon included in the album itself alongside the other pre-released SM Station track, which was the remake of S.E.S’ "Dreams Come True." Rookie girl group aespa worked together with BoA in adding their own flair and magic to the representative girl group song.

Other tracks in the album include “ZOO” by Taeyong, Jeno, Hendery, Yangyang, and Giselle, “Melody” by Girls’ Generation-Oh!GG, “Magical” by TVXQ and Super Junior, “Snow Dream 2021” by Yeri, Haechan, Chenle, Jisung, and Ningning, “Ordinary Day” by Kyuhyun, Onew, and Taeil, “Goodbye” by Sunny, Jungwoo, and Renjun, “DINNER” by TVXQ, and “Hope from KWANGYA” by all SM Entertainment artists.

ALSO READ: Yoo Jae Suk Remains On Top At The January Variety Star Brand Reputation Rankings

SM Entertainment Debuts New Supergroup Got The Beat

SM Entertainment conducted a free live online concert on January 1, 2022 to extend gratitude and joy to global fans of the agency. SM Town Live 2022: SMCU Express at Kwangya was broadcast free online through various streaming platforms with special performances from artists signed under SM Entertainment.

Through the online concert, the new supergroup Got The Beat performed their debut single “Step Back.” Got The Beat includes BoA, Girls’ Generation members Taeyeon and Hyoyeon, Red Velvet members Wendy and Seulgi, and aespa members Karina and Winter.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!