05 Mar 2018 6:37 PM +00:00 UTC

Star Wars Still Hasn’t Won An Oscar Since Empire Strikes Back

Star Wars: The Last Jedi actors Mark Hamill, Oscar Isaacs and Kelly Marie Tran might have come up on stage at this year's Oscars to present the Academy Awards for Animated Short and Animated Feature, but it looks like Lucasfilm's The Force Awakens sequel failed to win an Oscar yet again.

It's been nearly four decades since the Star Wars franchise has had an Oscar win. Though each of Lucasfilm's various Star Wars saga installments and spinoffs receive nominations at the Academy Awards, the franchise has barely had any Oscar wins. Hollywood was all up and about for Star Wars when A New Hope was released. Not only did the film earn 10 nominations at the Oscars, but it also got six wins. A few years after at the 1981 Academy Awards, the hype for the saga fell and the series went home with only three nominations and one win for Best Sound.

Here's a breakdown of the number of nominations and wins each Star Wars film has in Lucasfilm's galaxy far, far away from The Los Angeles Times.


Star Wars: A New Hope — 6 wins, 10 nominations

Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back – 1 win, 3 nominations

Star Wars: Return of the Jedi – 4 nominations

Star Wars: The Phantom Menace — 3 nominations

Star Wars: Attack of the Clones — 1 nomination

Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith — 1 nomination

Star Wars: The Force Awakens — 5 nominations


Rogue One: A Star Wars Story — 2 nominations

Star Wars: The Last Jedi — 4 nominations

It certainly seems like the Academy Awards has very little love for Star Wars. Let's see how Solo: A Star Wars story fares next year.

Solo premieres on May 25.

Read: Possible Cover for The Art of Solo: A Star Wars Story Book