Dark Knight: Heath Ledger's Sisters Shut Down Rumors About Toll Joker Role Took on Him

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

When Heath Ledger died before Dark Knight's theatrical release, rumors about his Joker role taking toll on him quickly spread, but according to his sisters Ashleigh Bell and Kate Ledger, his Oscar-winning performance was not a contributing factor to his death.

During a screening of the new documentary about the actor, I Am Heath Ledger, Ledger's siblings talked to Entertainment Weekly about their brothers and shot down rumors that their brother's role as the Joker took a massive toll on him and caused him to overdose on drugs, saying that the rumor is "so not true."

Kate said that her brother "wasn't depressed about the Joker" and in fact, she said that "it was the absolute opposite," saying that he "had an amazing sense of humor, and I guess maybe only his close family and friends really knew that, but he was having fun."

Advertisement

Matt Amato, the executive producer of I Am Heath Ledger and a friend of the late actor, revealed that he was hesitant to create the documentary at first, but then realized it was a significant way to address false rumors and misinformation about Ledger. "Heath is a celebrity and in the public eye, and I felt like some corrections needed to be made," he said. Watch the trailer:

I Am Heath Ledger is set to air on Spike TV on May 17 at 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET/9 p.m. CT. The documentary will be released on Blu-ray and DVD on May 23.

Related: Christian Bale Admits He's Only Seen His Superhero Films And Christopher Reeve's Superman Movies