Magic: The Gathering Mox Tantalite is Now Up For Auction, Pancoast's Sister is A Jeweler

Author Thumbnail
By Jake Vyper | More Articles MTG Writer/Streamer
May 28, 2019  02:29 PM

Wizards of the Coast

One of the most stunning Magic: The Gathering artworks featured in a Modern Horizons card is Mox Tantalite illustrated by Ryan Pancoast. Now, the one-of-a-kind Mox Tantalite necklace is up for auction and it turns out that the artist's sister is a jeweler who helped craft the necklace based on his painting. 

The auction was posted by Mike Linnemann on the MTG Market Facebook group on Tuesday, and the end date is on June 3, Monday (6pm PST, 3am in Berlin, 10am in Tokyo). At the time of this writing, the current bid is $750 USD. The necklace is made with oxidized sterling silver and brass overlay, and it comes with the chain and clasp so it's ready to wear. According to the post, the orb is 1" wide and the setting is 1.75" wide.

Here's Pancoast's message on the post: 

"To paint Mox Tantalite, I knew great photo reference was going to be essential. I purchased this magnetite/pyrite orb from a Canadian gem shop that matched the Mox description that was provided to me by the Magic creative team."

The orb provided great photo reference and I made only small adjustments in the final painting.

After the painting was completed, I asked my sister to fabricate a pendant inspired by my painting, using the actual orb. She was careful to position the stone so that it matched the painting."

There is a $25 shipping cost to anywhere in the U.S. Check out the original post on the MTG Market group for more details. 

You can watch Pancoast's illustration video below:

Are you interested in bidding for the Mox Tantalite necklace? 

 

RelatedNew Snow-Themed MTG Cards From Modern Horizons Revealed

What Others Are Reading

Author Name
Jake Vyper is a Fantasy & Sci-Fi Author, Social Media Manager, and Founder of Epicstream.com
@Jake Vyper | jake@epicstream.com