Final Spots Filled in Magic: The Gathering Rivals League for Partial 2020 Season

Author Thumbnail
By Jake Vyper | More Articles MTG Writer/Streamer
January 24, 2020  09:30 PM


Wizards of the Coast finally revealed the discretionary invites for the Magic: The Gathering Rivals League, a new talent-development league consisting of 32 players as part of its improved path in esports. The bottom 12 members of the Magic Pro League were moved down to Rivals and the top tabletop and digital players from the 2019 season were added.  

Wizards also awarded four discretionary invites to the Rivals League. You can check out the 32 Rivals League MTG players for the 2020 partial season, organized based on how they earned their spots, as shared by a Redditor user

Passed down from MPL to Rivals League

Lucas Esper Berthoud

Jessica Estephan

Eric Froehlich

Christian Hauck

Alexander Hayne

Grzegorz Kowalski

Matthew Nass

John Rolf

Luis Salvatto

Mike Sigrist

Ben Stark

Awarded Rivals seat based on digital point rankings

Kai Budde

Stanislav Cifka

Kenji Egashira

Simon Görtzen

Matias Leveratto

Théo Moutier

Greg Orange

Miguel da Cruz Simões

Awarded Rivals seat based on tabletop point rankings

Louis-Samuel Deltour

Eli Kassis

No Ah Ma

Sebastián Pozzo

Luis Scott-Vargas

Thoralf Severin

Matt Sperling

Yoshihiko Ikawa

Bernardo Santos

Discretionary invites to Rivals League 

Beatriz Grancha (top-ranked in MTG Arena)

Emma Handy (Star City Games grinder)

Ally Warfield (Top-four finisher at Grand Prix Indianapolis 2019 and full-time streamer)

Eli Loveman (winner of Mythic Championship II)


That's a stacked Rivals League! I'm rooting for Stansilav Cifka to get the top spot, and I hope he makes it to the Magic Pro League next year. 

Janne "Savjz" Mikkonen and Peter Yeh were originally invited into this year's MTG Rivals League, but they declined their invitations. Savjz recently said that he wanted to focus solely on creating content for his streaming channels. 

The next two top-ranked tabletop point players, Bernado Santos and Yoshihiko Ikawa, were added to the league to replace their spots. 

RelatedTheros Beyond Death Originally Had A Full Cycle of Elder Titans

What Others Are Reading

Author Name
Jake Vyper is a Fantasy & Sci-Fi Author, Social Media Manager, and Founder of
@Jake Vyper |