Are They Adding These Older Magic: The Gathering Cards in Arena For Historic Format?

Author Thumbnail
By Jake Vyper | More Articles MTG Writer/Streamer
September 06, 2019  09:41 PM

 

The non-rotating Historic format is coming to Magic: The Gathering Arena this November, and Wizards of the Coast is planning to add older non-Standard MTG cards to the game's client for the Historic format. Although they still haven't announced the first set of "curated" cards that will will be released in Arena, one website may have leaked the first batch of cards from older sets. 

As Redditor JacetheMindSculptor pointed out, cards from older Magic sets were recently added to MTGAPro's database, including "Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger", "Griselbrand", and "Bedlam Reveler". You can check out the list of cards with the links below. 

Furnace Dragon https://mtgarena.pro/cards/red/furnace-dragon-DST-62/

Kuro, Pitlord https://mtgarena.pro/cards/black/kuro-pitlord-CHK-123/

Jin-Gitaxias, Core Augur https://mtgarena.pro/cards/blue/jin-gitaxias-core-augur-NPH-37/

Iona, Shield of Emeria https://mtgarena.pro/cards/white/iona-shield-of-emeria-ZEN-13/

Borborygmos Enraged https://mtgarena.pro/cards/green/borborygmos-enraged-GTC-147/

Baleful Force https://mtgarena.pro/cards/black/baleful-force-C13-70/

Bedlam Reveler https://mtgarena.pro/cards/red/bedlam-reveler-EMN-118/

Hoverguard Sweepers https://mtgarena.pro/cards/blue/hoverguard-sweepers-5DN-32/

Dragon Tyrant https://mtgarena.pro/cards/red/dragon-tyrant-SCG-88/

Stratadon https://mtgarena.pro/cards/colorless/stratadon-PS-135/

Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger https://mtgarena.pro/cards/colorless/ulamog-the-ceaseless-hunger-BFZ-15/

Gigantomancer https://mtgarena.pro/cards/green/gigantomancer-ROE-184/

Crash of Rhinos https://mtgarena.pro/cards/green/crash-of-rhinos-MI-0/

Griselbrand https://mtgarena.pro/cards/black/griselbrand-AVR-106/

Scaled Wurm https://mtgarena.pro/cards/green/scaled-wurm-9ED-269/

Blazing Archon https://mtgarena.pro/cards/white/blazing-archon-RAV-4/

Tidespout Tyrant https://mtgarena.pro/cards/blue/tidespout-tyrant-DIS-34/

Colossus of Sardia https://mtgarena.pro/cards/colorless/colossus-of-sardia-10E-317/

Fire Dragon https://mtgarena.pro/cards/red/fire-dragon-ME2-125/

Demon of Death's Gate https://mtgarena.pro/cards/black/demon-of-death-s-gate-M11-92/

Thing from the Deep https://mtgarena.pro/cards/blue/thing-from-the-deep-ME4-68/

Dread Cacodemon https://mtgarena.pro/cards/black/dread-cacodemon-CMD-79/

 

It's unclear whether these cards were added to Magic Arena for one of the Momir events, or if it's an accidental leak of the first set of "curated" cards that will be legal in the game's Historic format. 

According to last week's announcment, Wizards of the Coast has plans to add approximately 15-20 cards from older sets in November, with reoccuring goal of adding more new cards every quarter after that, and these cards will mostly be released independent of Standard sets. Wizards said that they might eventually add full non-Standard sets, but they rather focus on adding meaningful cards for the new Historic format. 

Would you like to see these cards in Magic Arena's Historic format or do you think they're too powerful? Let us know in the comments section below. 

RelatedThrone of Eldraine Planeswalker Decks Reveal New MTG Cards

What Others Are Reading

Author Name
Jake Vyper is a Fantasy & Sci-Fi Author, Social Media Manager, and Founder of Epicstream.com
@Jake Vyper | jake@epicstream.com