3 More Magic: The Gathering Cards Banned in The New Pioneer Format

Author Thumbnail
By Jake Vyper | More Articles MTG Writer/Streamer
December 02, 2019  06:41 PM


Wizards of the Coast has announced the banning of three Magic: The Gathering cards in the new Pioneer format: "Once Upon A Time", "Smuggler's Copter", and "Field of the Dead". 

The decisions were made after analyzing the results from the Players Tour Qualifiers (PTQs) on Magic: The Gathering Online. "Smuggler's Copter" was banned due to the dominance of Mono-Black Aggro decks; "Once Upon A Time" because of the dominance of green decks in the format; and "Field of the Dead" because ramp decks are suppressive controlling and reactive decks. 

WotC banned these cards with hopes that "will result in greater diversity among aggressive decks, a clearer role in the metagame for reactive and controlling decks, and a push toward better color balance among competitive decks."

These three cards were the Top 3 in our list of 7 cards we expected to get banned in Pioneer today

Here's a list of the other banned cards in Pioneer: 

Bloodstained Mire

Felidar Guardian

Flooded Strand

Leyline of Abundance

Oath of Nissa

Polluted Delta

Veil of Summer

Windswept Heath

Wooded Foothills

The off-cycle Pioneer ban and restricted announcement continues every Monday, so the next one will be on December 9, but according to Magic designer Aaron Forsythe, there are only few weeks left before Pioneer ban changes will coincide with the regular scheduled announcements with the other MTG formats. 

RelatedSecret Lairs Reportedly Contain Additional Promos

What Others Are Reading

Author Name
Jake Vyper is a Fantasy & Sci-Fi Author, Social Media Manager, and Founder of Epicstream.com
@Jake Vyper | jake@epicstream.com