5 Reasons Why HBO’s Watchmen Might Fail

Author Thumbnail Jon Arvedon September 03, 2019 08:08 AM

1It’s Not the Source Material

Feature Detail

Fans of Moore and Gibbons’ Watchmen hold the source material in the highest regard. So much so that almost any attempt to recreate or expand upon it has been met with vitriol, not just by fans but also by Moore himself.

In 2009, Warner Bros. released a Watchmen film, directed by Zack Snyder. However, while Gibbons served as an advisor on the project, Moore refused because he felt what he and Gibbons did in Watchmen could only work in a comic book.

Then, in 2012, DC released a prequel tale called Before Watchmen, which consisted of eight miniseries and a Dollar Bill one-shot. Unfortunately, many fans felt, that, given Moore’s strict objection, this was a shameless move by the publisher. The same can also be said of the currently in-progress Doomsday Clock limited series (albeit to a lesser extent), which is a sequel to Watchmen that combines the characters of that world with the DC Universe proper.

Taking all this into account, Watchmen purists may not even want to give the HBO series the time of day, considering Moore’s feelings.

What Others Are Reading

Author Name
Jon Arvedon was born and raised on the not-so-mean streets of Central Massachusetts. Jon uses his time consuming, collecting, and sharing all aspects of nerd culture. Follow Jon on Twitter @JonArvedon.
@Jon Arvedon | jon@epicstream.com